News/ArticlesCOVID-19 Updates, SCEFGhana Commences Partial Movement Restrictions Today

Ghana Commences Partial Movement Restrictions Today

President Nana Addo Danquah Akuffo Addo has announced a partial movement restrictions in some parts of Ghana starting today, March 30, 2020.  Stating the government’s position in tackling the prevention of the spread of the novel corona virus in Ghana, he said there would be restrictions of movement of persons in the Greater Accra Metropolitan Area (GAMA) which includes Awutu Senya East, and the Greater Kumasi Metropolitan Area and contiguous districts for two weeks.

 In Greater Accra Metropolitan, affected areas are:

  • Accra Metropolis
  • Tema Metropolis
  • Tema West Municipality
  • Ledzokuku Municipality
  • Krowor Municipality
  • Adentan Municipality
  • Ashiaman Municipality
  • La-Nkwantanang-Madina Municipality
  • La-Dade-Kotopon Municipality
  • Okaikwei North Municipality
  • Ablekuma North Municipality
  • Ablekuma West Municipality
  • Ablekuma Central Municipality
  • Ayawaso East Municipality
  • Ayawaso North Municipality
  • Ayawaso West Municipality
  • Ayawaso Central Municipality
  • Ga West Municipality
  • Ga North Municipality
  • Ga Central Municipality
  • Ga South Municipality
  • Ga East Municipality
  • Korle-Klottey Municipality
  • Weija/Gbawe Municipality
  • Kpone Katamanso Municipality and
  • Awutu Senya East Municipality.

In the Greater Kumasi Metropolitan Area and contiguous districts, affected areas are:

  • Kumasi Metropolis
  • Asokwa Municipality
  • Suame Municipality
  • Old Tafo Municipality
  • Oforikrom Municipality
  • Asokore Mampong Municipality
  • Kwadaso Municipality
  • Atwima Nwabiagya Municipality
  • Kwabre East Municipality
  • Ejisu Municipality
  • Afigya-Kwabre South District
  • Bosomtwi District
  • Atwima Kwanwoma District and
  • Atwima Nwabiagya North District.

According to the President of Ghana, the areas under restriction of movement were identified as coronavirus hotspots. 

The President in his address, stated that, only essential service workers would be allowed by security agencies to operate.

“People in the affected areas must stay at home in the next two weeks. If you must go out, it should be to get essentials, go to the bank or to use the public toilets” President Akuffo Addo said. 

Some of the essential services the President stated in his address include;

  • Food, beverage, pharmaceuticals, medicine, paper and plastic services
  • Environmental and sanitation
  • Road and railway construction
  • Security Agencies
  • Fuel and utility services
  • Telecommunications
  • E-commerce and digital service providers
  • Media

In the early hours of today, Monday, 30th March, 2020, security agencies were deployed and assigned to the areas (epicenters) to ensure the enforcement of the directive by the President without fear or favor.

The novel coronavirus was first discovered in Wuhan, China in November 2019. The COVID-19 virus spreads primarily through droplets of saliva or discharge from the nose when an infected person coughs or sneezes. At this time, there are no specific vaccines or treatments for COVID-19. However, there are ongoing clinical trials evaluating potential treatments (WHO, 2020). The first two confirmed cases in Ghana was in March, 2020. According to the Ghana Health Service current situation update on the virus, states that 152 cases have so far been confirmed.